Port NOLA elects Leger as new board chairman

Walter J. Leger Jr.

The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans has elected new officers with the election of Walter J. Leger Jr. to serve as board chairman, reports New Orleans City Business.

James J. Carter Jr. has been elected as vice chairman, and Sharonda R. Williams as secretary-treasurer for a nine-month term. Port Commissioners and officers also serve on the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Commission.

Leger succeeds Joseph F. Toomy, whose nine-month term as chairman ended. Toomy will continue to serve on the board as a commissioner. Read more.