Port NOLA appoints Toomy as board chairman

Joseph Toomy

Last week, the board of commissioners of the Port of New Orleans selected Joseph F. Toomy to serve as board chairman, Walter J. Leger Jr. as vice chairman, and James J. Carter Jr. as secretary-treasurer for a nine-month term, reports Biz New Orleans. Port commissioners and officers also serve on the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad Commission.

Toomy succeeds Jack C. Jensen Jr., whose nine-month term as chairman and five-year term as commissioner ended this month. Jensen will continue to serve on the board as a commissioner until his replacement is appointed. Read the entire story.